Teacher Gifts | 2014

Last year I really went all out. If you have not seen the teacher baskets I made last year, check them out here. I absolutely loved these! I loved making them (even though it took me forever and was a lot of work), and the response was wonderful. I got personal phone calls from both of my girl’s teachers thanking me and raving. Got to love my intentions coming to life, I wanted to make them something they would love and that made them feel appreciated. Mission accomplished.

So this year I wanted to do the same. But it is very unlike me to do the exact same thing again. So instead of an apple theme, this year I thought peanut butter and jelly would be a cute and appropriate gift basket idea! So, to Pinterest I went, and I pinned, and I pinned, and I pinned…and I was pooped. I had so much going on the past few months, I honestly don’t know how I’m sitting here right now and not crying in my closet because after the completion of these baskets I have all of one day before I need to go, go, go again…and I need to clean up after myself from making the baskets…so really I don’t even have the time to go cry. BUT! I got them done. Not perfectly, not with all the lofty plans I had for them, and not nearly as amazing or extensive as last years, but stinking cute regardless. I love PB&J.

Let’s take a look!

Teacher Gifts 2014

I baked mini loaves of bread first…and they didn’t fit in the bags I had for them…So I made them their own bags!

Teacher Gifts 2014-2

Teacher Gifts 2014-3

I love anything in miniature!

Teacher Gifts 2014-2-2 Teacher Gifts 2014-3-2 Teacher Gifts 2014-4-2 Teacher Gifts 2014-5-2 Teacher Gifts 2014-21

These cookies were actually the basis for the whole basket. I saw them on Pinterest ages ago and they stuck in my head. And as some of you might know, I’m a bit of a theme whore. That’s my thing. I love a theme. So everything blossomed from there. Or maybe I should say “budded” because this was supposed to have a lot more in it! ;0) The cookies were actually a mix of a sugar cookie recipe that I used recently for my Lime in the Coconut Party and I just added a bunch of my homemade peanut butter to it. They were so good!!!

Teacher Gifts 2014-11

When I got my mini loaf pans I saw this day coming. I knew I wanted to make mini loafs of bread to go with tiny homemade peanut butter and jellies. And now that I’ve done it the small way, I feel like it would be a fun host gift to a mom: full loaf of bread and a large jar of each homemade peanut butter and jelly!

 

Teacher Gifts 2014-14

Then I saw these cool spatulas at Albertsons! (I was getting alcohol, if you’ve read some of my other blog posts you might know I am a Whole Foods girl all the way!) But now I think I need to buy them out so I have them to gift with the big loafs of bread. They don’t fit in the tiny jars…but that didn’t stop me!

Teacher Gifts 2014-13 Teacher Gifts 2014-12

They were supposed to go in the bag together…the mini loafs weren’t as mini as I thought!

Teacher Gifts 2014-6

Teacher Gifts 2014-10 Teacher Gifts 2014-7

Teacher Gifts 2014-9 Teacher Gifts 2014-8

And then I had to make some organic fruit snacks like I did last year…because let’s be honest, my kids live off of PB&J and fruit snacks! (And hot dogs…don’t judge!) ;0)

Teacher Gifts 2014-16

And you can not have peanut butter without something to wash it down with! So I took these awesome mini milk jugs (they are from organic and raw cream), you know how I like things in mini, remember?

 

The chocolate sauce I made to make the chocolate milk was SO easy! Easy, fast, and tastes fantastic! I’ll share it with you because I still have it on my phone next to me. I don’t always include recipes to the things I make and post about, mostly because I’m just posting things like this as a “journaling” type of thing, but I’m happy to share if anyone ever asks.

Easy Peasy Chocolate Sauce:

1/3 cup sugar

1 pinch salt

3 TBS water

2 TBS butter

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1. Put sugar, salt and water in a small saucepan and heat on medium until it boils. Stir occasionally to help dissolve the sugar.

2. Remove from heat and stir in butter until melted

3. Add cocoa powder and whisk until smooth and glossy!

See? Super easy! It makes maybe a cup, so it’s the kind of thing you could just put together to go with ice cream on family night or something!

Teacher Gifts 2014-15

My LA peeps may understand this, but I want to give you an idea of what raw milk tastes like. You know back in the day at the LA County Fair (the one in Pomona) when you could stand in a long line for a small jug of “Ice Cold Milk” and it was fifty cents? And there were two options. Chocolate and regular. I always got the regular. It was so amazing and creamy and tasted like…well, like milk. Nowadays you don’t generally see the line, the milk is something like $2.75 and it tastes like someone put a little “milk flavor” in water and added white food coloring. In fact, I’m not even sure they have then there anymore. I haven’t been in a few years. It used to come straight from the cow…now I’m sure it’s packaged from some plant that sucks their dairy cows dry while they get shot up with antibiotics, hormones, and stand in pools of their manure and pee, in a 2×2 cell.

That was a bit of an intense way to say I LOVE MILK! And these were so cute, and the chocolate milk was to die for!

Teacher Gifts 2014-4 Teacher Gifts 2014-5

Last year I included a picture of each of the girls to help the teacher remember them, they were holding an apple and they were SO adorable. So I wanted to keep up the tradition. The second one didn’t make the cut, partially because my darling Blue Bug decided to peel her nose raw, color on her face with something blue, and chop a bit of her hair off…all while changing into “something plain for the photo” (that’s what I asked her to do…she came down an absolute mess..) and I couldn’t photoshop that blue finger in the second one. Notice her “head tilt”? She was trying to hid the wonky side of her hair that she cut off…oy. Kids.

And unfortunately the Piglet was at her other mom’s and I was not prepared ahead of time to take the photo…so we didn’t get one of her. I might just take one anyway for us to have. There is leftover mini-loaf…but I will have to make more peanut butter, that stuff goes fast!

Teacher Gifts 2014-18Teacher Gifts 2014-19

Blue Bug signed her own card, and put the phonetic pronunciation of her name at the bottom. There was an Ava in class this year, and though my Eva is with an “e” they are both pronounced the same way…apparently there was a bit of…confusion. My poor baby, I did to her what my mom did to me. Oh well. She’ll get over it eventually. I almost have ;0)

Teacher Gifts 2014-20

Last year I also did a note to both the teachers, this year I only did the one because I did not want Khaia’s teacher not having something (because she was at her other mom’s when we got to this step…)

Teacher Gifts 2014-17

And here they are, the completed baskets! Even though I had so many big plans for these, and didn’t do even half of it…I stuffed the basket and I think they turned out really nicely!

I had to hand deliver them in the middle of the school day, because they were not ready to go in the morning. But they were received well! Now I just have to start coming up with ideas for next year! And if T-cup is in preschool it will be three baskets already!

What do you think I should do next year?

One thought on “Teacher Gifts | 2014

  1. Pingback: InspireME Girls | Teahcer Gift | Eva Finishes Third Grade | inspireME Girls

Leave a Reply

